John Staunton No Comments

The Summit Volunteer First Aid Squad is pleased to announce its 2022 Leadership team.  Mayor Nora Radest paid a visit to the Squad building to administer the Oath of Office. 

The Squad’s new President is Kevin Caropreso who previously served as Vice President. Prior to joining the Squad after moving to Summit in 2017, he served for 35 years at the Montgomery First Aid Squad and then Hillsboro Rescue Squad and was also a member of the Point Pleasant First Aid Squad where he had a vacation home.  John Buscaino who previously served as President and Training Lieutenant is the new Vice President. Nora Burd assumes the role of Corresponding Secretary. Treasurer Bob Mendes and Recording Secretary Rob McGrath return in their respective roles.

John Staunton assumes the role of Chief, a position he first held in the 1990’s (then called Captain) and again in 2013-14. An active member since 1983, Staunton has served in numerous positions including 5 terms as President.  George Shepherd, a former Maintenance Lieutenant is the new Deputy Chief. Paul Raynolds assumes the role of Maintenance Lieutenant.  Training Lieutenant Robert Endress, Equipment Lieutenant John Christmann, Personnel Lieutenant Kerry Whitcher and Records Lieutenant Mel Harari are all continuing in their positions.

Squad Trustees include: Laura Benevento, Beverly Brown, and Fred Schwarzmann.

Last year Squad members answered 2,221 emergency calls. The all-volunteer First Aid Squad, responds to emergency calls 24/7, is entirely funded through private donations and does not bill for service. The Squad is always looking for new volunteers to join its ranks. All needed training, uniforms and equipment is provided. For information on becoming a volunteer, or donating to the squad please call 908-277-9479, or visit their web site at:

This story also appears in: